"Artillery installation" in nature

Published December 06, 2016

Artillery installation in nature

Living beings have at their disposal sometimes quite entertaining organs for defense and offense. "Artillery installation" found in nature very often. For example, a truly amazing creation lives in the jungles of South America. At first glance, unremarkable small beetle as one centimeter, referred to herein as brahinus. However, the nearest acquaintance with him has caused a sensation...

Plant-hunters

Published December 06, 2016

Plant-hunters

It turns out that there are predators among the plants that prey continuously. They know how to watch for, lure, and then mercilessly kill their prey. They are called plant-hunters. On the globe there are about 500 species of carnivorous plant-hunters. First on the list can be called sundew...

The tselokant

Published December 06, 2016

The tselokant

Probably everyone remembers from the textbooks of biology drawings, in which fish is shown with which the evolution of first vertebrates on earth begins. Can we assume that this fish really exist? It was believed that she had died a long time ago. She even gave the name - tselokant. Scientists have long searched for a solution to this problem. And finally...

Sweeter than sugar...

Published February 05, 2017

Sweeter than sugar...

Can plants be sweeter than sugar?.. It turns out, yes. In this case, even chemistry can not do anything. It was supplied us the sweet substance - saccharin, which is 300 times sweeter than regular sugar. However, recently discovered plant, the fruit of which is much sweeter than sugar and, even saccharine...

Baobab

Published April 09, 2017

Baobab

Since the childhood many times it was necessary to hear the name of a miracle-tree baobab which grows somewhere in Africa. But what kind of tree is this, and what is its uniqueness known by far from all. It turns out that among the wonders of the vegetable world of tropical Africa, one of the main places belongs to this wonderful tree of baobab...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 17 ››

Tools

"Артиллерийские установки" в природе

Напечатано 02 августа, 2016

Артиллерийские установки в природе

Для защиты и нападения живые существа имеют в своем распоряжении иногда довольно занимательные органы. "Артиллерийские установки" в природе встречаются очень часто. Например, поистине удивительное создание живет в джунглях Южной Америки. На первый взгляд, это, казалось бы, ничем не примечательный...

Растения-охотники

Напечатано 02 октября, 2016

Растения-охотники

Оказывается и среди растений есть хищники, которые ведут непрерывную охоту. Они умеют подкараулить, заманить, а после этого безжалостно убить свою жертву. Это – растения-охотники. На земном шаре насчитывается до 500 видов насекомоядных растений-охотников. Первым в списке можно назвать известного насекомоеда...

Целокант

Напечатано 06 декабря, 2016

Целокант

Наверное, все помнят из учебников биологии рисунки, на которых изображена рыба, с которой начинается процесс эволюции первых на земле хребетных. Но, это же все теория! Как же быть с реальностью? Можно ли предполагать, что такая рыба действительно существует? Считалось, что она вымерла очень давно. Ей даже дали имя – целокант...

Слаще сахара...

Напечатано 05 февраля, 2017

Слаще сахара...

Могут ли быть растения слаще сахара?.. Оказывается, да. В этом случае даже химия не может ничего сделать. Именно она поставляла нам самое сладкое вещество – сахарин, который в 300 раз слаще обычного сахара. Однако недавно обнаружены растения, плоды которых намного слаще и сахара, и даже сахарина...

Баобаб

Напечатано 09 апреля, 2017

Баобаб

С детства много раз приходилось слышать название чудо-дерева баобаб, которое растет где-то в Африке. Но, что это за дерево, и в чем его уникальность знают далеко не все. Оказывается, среди чудес растительного мира тропической Африки одно из главных мест принадлежит именно этому чудесному дереву баобабу...

Рыбы-сенсации

Напечатано 19 ноября, 2017

Рыбы-сенсации

Рыбы-сенсации! Так сказали бы вы, увидев этих рыб! Кроме рыбы в шубе в Атлантическом океане к северу от Азорских островов, датская экспедиция выловила еще одну удивительную рыбку длиной всего 40 мм. Вместо обычной чешуи на мирапине эзау, как назвали ее, красовался густой волосяной покров...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ››

Инструменты