Archimedes and the volume of the ball

Published May 01, 2018

Archimedes and the volume of the ball

The greatest scientist of the Ancient World - Archimedes (circa 287-212 BC) is widely recognized as one of the greatest geniuses in the history of mankind. His contribution to mathematics is huge, and the name is covered with legends. It was Archimedes who came up with a formula for determining the area of a triangle along its sides and came very close to the notion of a definite integral, ahead of humanity for almost two millennia...

About combinatorics

Published May 01, 2018

About combinatorics

Combinatorics as a science began to speak in the 18th century. parallel with the emergence of the theory of probability, since for the solution of probabilistic problems it was necessary to calculate the number of different combinations of elements. With similar tasks, in which one or other subjects had to be selected, the best position of hunters during hunting...

Complex numbers

Published May 01, 2018

Complex numbers

From ancient times all the numbers were considered valid. All because first of all people were interested in natural numbers. New, complex numbers, at that time could not be at the thought; even negative numbers were then considered false. In the 16th century, in connection with the study of cubic equations, scientists needed to extract square roots from negative...

Tasks of choice

Published May 01, 2018

Tasks of choice

In life, often it is necessary to solve tasks of choice. As a rule, the choice is made on the basis of some criterion. On this subject there is even an old parable about the Buridan donkey. Once near him, at the same distance, two arms of hay were placed at the same time. I thought the donkey, I thought how to start with such arms, and so I did not come up with anything - I died of hunger. Why?..

Diophantus and his equations

Published May 01, 2018

Diophantus and his equations

When solving many mathematical problems, it is necessary to compose equations and determine from them unknown quantities. A classic problem of this type is described in the tale of Pinocchio, where he had to share imaginary apples. But who first made such an ingenious step in the development of mathematics? For this we need to make a journey into the depths of the centuries, when the great heroes-conquerors and philosophers-scientists lived in parallel. And with them is Diophantus and his equations...

Random numbers

Published May 01, 2018

Random numbers

If you plan to update the password to access the computer, the best solution is random numbers and randomly selected characters from any alphabet. For this, for example, we throw dice twenty-four times - the password is ready. Or it required a secret key for the cryptographic system, again random numbers are needed. What are they good? They are unpredictable!..

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Tools

Архимед и объём шара

Напечатано 15 июня, 2015

Архимед и объём шара

Величайший учёный Древнего мира – Архимед (ок. 287–212 до н. э.) общепризнанно считается одним из величайших гениев в истории человечества. Его вклад в математику огромен, а имя овеяно легендами. Именно Архимед придумал формулу для...

О комбинаторике

Напечатано 27 сентября, 2015

О комбинаторике

О комбинаторике как науке стали говорить в 18 в. параллельно с возникновением теории вероятностей, так как для решения вероятностных задач необходимо было подсчитать число различных комбинаций элементов. С подобными задачами, в которых приходилось выбирать...

Комплексные числа

Напечатано 29 ноября, 2015

Комплексные числа

Издревле все числа считались действительными. Все потому, что в первую очередь людей интересовали натуральные числа. Новые, комплексные числа, в то время не могли быть и на мысли; даже отрицательные числа тогда считались ложными. В 16 в., в связи с изучением кубических уравнений, ученым понадобилось...

Задачи выбора

Напечатано 24 января, 2016

Задачи выбора

В жизни часто приходится решать задачи выбора. Как правило, выбор делается на основе какого-то критерия. На эту тему есть даже старая притча о Буридановом осле. Однажды возле него строго на равных расстояниях одновременно положили две охапки сена. Думал осел, думал, с какой охапки начать...

Диофант и его уравнения

Напечатано 28 марта, 2016

Диофант и его уравнения

При решении многих математических задач приходится составлять уравнения и определять из них неизвестные величины. Классическая задача такого типа описана в сказке о Буратино, где ему приходилось делиться воображаемыми яблоками. Но кто впервые сделал такой гениальный шаг в развитии математики? Для этого нам нужно совершить путешествие вглубь веков, когда параллельно жили великие герои-завоеватели и ученые-философы. А с ними и Диофант и его уравнения...

Случайные числа

Напечатано 29 мая, 2016

Случайные числа

Если Вы задумали обновить пароль для доступа к компьютеру, то лучшее решение – случайные числа и случайно выбранные символы из какого-нибудь алфавита. Для этого, например, бросаем игральные кости двадцать четыре раза – пароль готов. Или потребовался секретный ключ для криптографической системы...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ››

Инструменты