Signs of multiplication and division

Published May 01, 2018

Signs of multiplication and division

Signs of multiplication and division played a huge role in the development of mathematics. The sign of the "oblique cross" multiplication (x) was first introduced by the English mathematician William Ouartred (1575-1660). The multiplication by a column, familiar to us from the school bench, is an invention not so far away! (His also invented Oudred.) His disciples were the famous Christopher Wren - the creator...

Extraction of the cubic root

Published May 01, 2018

Extraction of the cubic root

Extracting of the cubic root - it's easy! If you tell a friend that you can count in your mind no worse than electronic computer, he, of course, will ridicule you. Then, without embarrassment, ask him to erect in a cube a number not more than a hundred. When he tells you the result, for example, the number 658503...

Numerical pyramids

Published May 01, 2018

Numerical pyramids

Experiments with numbers, surprising combinations of numbers and the result obtained in the aftermath of these actions sometimes cause admiration. Amazing numerical pyramids and amazing properties of numbers can be seen...

Opening logarithms

Published May 01, 2018

Opening logarithms

Opening logarithms was based on the well-known by the end of the 16th century. properties of progressions. Many mathematicians noticed that in addition, subtraction, multiplication and division, arithmetic progression (in the same order) corresponds to multiplication, division, exponentiation, and extraction of a root in a geometric progression...

Approximate measurements

Published May 01, 2018

Approximate measurements

When the hot summer days come, it's hard to stay at home. It's time to collect things and get ready for rest. The best rest is a hike, or excursions, during which one often has to measure distances. But the dimensional ruler or tape is not always at hand, and it is useful to be able to manage somehow without them, producing at least approximate measurements...

Numerical giants

Published May 01, 2018

Numerical giants

In our time of rapidly developing technologies it is difficult to surprise a person with anything unusual. Therefore, we sometimes do not pay attention to the world around us, which since ancient times "inhabit" numerical giants. They are present everywhere and even inside ourselves - we only need to be able to examine them...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Знаки умножения и деления

Напечатано 21 марта, 2012

Знаки умножения и деления

Знаки умножения и деления сыграли огромную роль в развитии математики. Знак умножения "косой крест" (x) впервые ввел английский математик Уильям Оутред (1575–1660). Умножение столбиком, знакомое нам со школьной скамьи, – изобретение не столь уж далекого времени! Его тоже придумал Оутред. Его учениками были знаменитый Кристофер Рен...

Извлечение кубического корня

Напечатано 31 января, 2013

Извлечение кубического корня

Извлечение кубического корня - это просто! Если вы объявите товарищу, что можете считать в уме не хуже электронно-счетной машины, он, конечно, поднимет вас на смех. Тогда, не смущаясь, предложите ему возвести в куб какое-либо число (не более ста). Когда он сообщит вам результат, например, число 658503, вы, к его изумлению, почти не задумываясь...

Числовые пирамиды

Напечатано 01 февраля, 2013

Числовые пирамиды

Эксперименты с числами порой вызывают восхищение. Удивительные числовые пирамиды и удивительные свойства чисел можно увидеть на...

Открытие логарифмов

Напечатано 19 июня, 2013

Открытие логарифмов

Открытие логарифмов опиралось на хорошо известные к концу 16 в. свойства прогрессий. Многие математики замечали, что умножению, делению, возведению в степень и извлечению корня в геометрической прогрессии соответствуют в арифметической прогрессии...

Приблизительные измерения

Напечатано 11 июля, 2013

Приблизительные измерения

Когда наступают жаркие дни лета, трудно сидеть дома. Пора собирать вещи и готовиться к отдыху. Лучший отдых – турпоход, или экскурсии, во время которых часто приходиться измерять расстояния. Но мерная линейка или лента не всегда оказывается под руками, и полезно уметь обходиться как-нибудь без них, производя хотя бы приблизительные измерения...

Числовые великаны

Напечатано 18 августа, 2013

Числовые великаны

В наше время бурно развивающихся технологий трудно удивить человека чем-нибудь необычным. Поэтому, мы порой не обращаем внимания на окружающий мир, который с древних времен "населяют" числовые великаны. Они присутствуют всюду вокруг и даже внутри нас самих – надо лишь уметь рассмотреть их...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ››

Инструменты