Vector

Published May 01, 2018

Vector

To the question: "What is the vector?" - usually answer: "This is a mathematical value that has a size and direction". Seeking to dispel such a common misconception and reveal the essence of the vector quantity, the well-known mechanic A. Minakov (1893-1954) gave an illustrative example in his lectures...

Number one

Published May 01, 2018

Number one

Number one underlies many concepts. The words "lonely", "loneliness" and "loner" all have the root "one", as well as "individual farmer", "single" - the root "one", "one". "Solo", a performance with the help of a single instrument, came from the Latin word "solus", which means "lonely"; from him, in turn, formed the words...

Number thirteen

Published May 01, 2018

Number thirteen

Number thirteen is divided into 2, 3, 4 and 6, which at a low level of calculations in antiquity gave a great advantage. But number thirteen caused some trouble, because it was not divided into anything. It also made difficulties in the calendar. For example, in Babylon the year contained 12 lunar months that comprised...

Gematria

Published May 01, 2018

Gematria

Gematria, or numerology, therefore fascinated the Hellenes, that in ancient Greece the numbers were represented by the letters of the alphabet and each number corresponded to a certain number. Comparing these numbers, corresponding to their names, comparing their properties, the Greeks established many curious dependencies, which continue to attract the attention of mathematicians to this day...

Mathematical symbols

Published May 01, 2018

Mathematical symbols

Mathematical symbols of all known decimal fractions was introduced by the famous Dutch S. Stevin, who in 1585 published in Leiden a small brochure "The Tenth". However, the method of symbolism he adopted was extremely inconvenient. So, the number 8,937 he wrote without a comma, enclosing every even number in the circle...

Zero

Published May 01, 2018

Zero

In mathematics, the number zero has a miraculous power. Without it there would not be a whole building of mathematics and there would not be a modern computer hardware. And to imagine a modern life without a computer is already as difficult as the fact that our ancestors once felt horror at the figure zero...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Вектор

Напечатано 21 ноября, 2011

Вектор

На вопрос: "Что такое вектор?" – обычно отвечают: "Это такая математическая величина, которая имеет размер и направление". Стремясь развеять столь распространенное заблуждение и выявить суть векторной величины, известный механик А. Минаков (1893–1954) на своих лекциях приводил наглядный пример...

Число один

Напечатано 11 декабря, 2011

Число один

Число один лежит в основе многих понятий. Слова "одинокий", "одиночество" и "одиночка" все имеют корень "один", так же как "единоличник", "единственный" – корень "един", "единица". "Соло", исполнение при помощи одного инструмента, произошло от латинского слова "solus", которое означает...

Число тринадцать

Напечатано 11 декабря, 2011

Число тринадцать

Число 12 делится на 2, 3, 4 и 6, что при низком уровне вычислений в древности давало большое преимущество. А вот число тринадцать вызывало одни неприятности, поскольку оно ни на что не делилось. Вносило оно затруднения и в календарь. Например, в Вавилоне год содержал 12 лунных месяцев, составлявших 354 дня и остаток 11–12 дней...

Гематрия

Напечатано 11 декабря, 2011

Гематрия

Гематрия, или нумерология, потому увлекала эллинов, что в Древней Греции числа изображались буквами алфавита и каждому написанному слову соответствовало некоторое число. Сопоставляя эти числа, соответствовавшие их названиям, сравнивая их свойства, греки установили немало любопытных зависимостей, которые и поныне...

Математическая символика

Напечатано 11 декабря, 2011

Математическая символика

Математическая символика всем известных десятичных дробей была введена в обиход знаменитым голландцем С. Стевином, который в 1585 году издал в Лейдене маленькую брошюру "Десятая". Однако принятый им метод символики был крайне неудобным. Так, число 8,937 он писал без запятой, заключая в кружок...

Нуль

Напечатано 03 января, 2012

Нуль

В математике нуль обладает чудодейственной силой. Без нуля не было бы всего здания математики. Без нуля не существовала бы современная компьютерная техника. А представить себе современную жизнь без компьютера уже так же трудно, как и то, что когда-то наши предки испытывали ужас перед цифрой нуль...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ››

Инструменты