Yakov's staff

Published May 01, 2018

Yakov's staff

For a more accurate measurement of angles, rather than a protractor "with your own hands," you can make a simple and convenient device that once served our ancestors. This so-called "Yakov's staff" - a device that was widely used by seafarers before the 18th century - until such time as it was gradually replaced by more convenient and accurate goniometers...

How to measure the height of a tree

Published May 01, 2018

How to measure the height of a tree

How to measure the height of a tree without cutting it and climbing its top? Of course, there are many different ways to produce such measurements using very simple instruments. But, such miracles are very simply performed, knowing only the knowledge of the principles of geometry...

How to find the speed of a river

Published May 01, 2018

How to find the speed of a river

Talking with old acquaintances, we often say: "a lot of water has flowed since...". But can we answer simple questions, how to find the speed of the current of the river and how much water flows, for example, per day even in a small river. All this is fully measurable and represents a relatively easy geometric problem. So how do you find the speed of the river?..

Volume of the tree trunk

Published May 01, 2018

Volume of the tree trunk

When constructing, as well as in various kinds of everyday questions, it is sometimes necessary to determine the volume of the tree trunk, to calculate how many cubic meters of wood it contains, and at the same time weigh it. It turns out that this task is not as simple as it seems; There is no exact solution, but only an approximate evaluation...

The concept of a mathematical function

Published May 01, 2018

The concept of a mathematical function

The concept of a mathematical function did not form immediately, but a long and thorny path of development had passed. In the mathematical works of antiquity, the functional dependence is already contained in the first, mathematically expressed relations between the quantities, in the first formulas for finding the area and volume of certain figures...

Brackets in mathematics

Published May 01, 2018

Brackets in mathematics

Where did the brackets come from in mathematics? Brackets, or, as they are also called, special "punctuation marks", in a mathematical language allow you to change the sequence of arithmetic operations. They came into use in the 16th - early 17th centuries. The first appeared square brackets in mathematics...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Посох Якова

Напечатано 10 марта, 2014

Посох Якова

Для более точного измерения углов, нежели угломер "своими руками", можно изготовить простой и удобный прибор, некогда служивший нашим предкам. Это так называемый "посох Якова" – прибор, бывший в широком употреблении у мореплавателей до 18 века, – до того времени, пока его постепенно...

Как измерить высоту дерева

Напечатано 03 апреля, 2014

Как измерить высоту дерева

Как измерить высоту дерева не срубая его и не взбираясь на его верхушку? Конечно, существует множество различных способов производить подобные измерения с помощью весьма незамысловатых приборов. Но, такого рода чудеса очень просто выполняются, владея только знаниями начал геометрии...

Как найти скорость течения реки

Напечатано 02 мая, 2014

Как найти скорость течения реки

Беседуя со старыми знакомыми, мы часто говорим: "много воды утекло с тех пор...". Но можем ли мы ответить на простые вопросы, как найти скорость течения реки и сколько именно воды протекает, например, в сутки даже в небольшой речке. Все это вполне поддается измерению...

Объем ствола дерева

Напечатано 14 июня, 2014

Объем ствола дерева

При строительстве, а также в разного рода житейских вопросах иногда бывает необходимо определить объем ствола дерева, вычислить, сколько в нем кубических метров древесины, а заодно и взвесить его. Оказывается, эта задача не так проста, как кажется...

Понятие математической функции

Напечатано 17 ноября, 2014

Понятие математической функции

Понятие математической функции сложилось не сразу, а прошло долгий и тернистый путь развития. В математических трудах древности функциональная зависимость содержится уже в первых, математически выраженных соотношениях между величинами, в первых...

Скобки в математике

Напечатано 10 марта, 2015

Скобки в математике

Откуда взялись скобки в математике? Скобки, или, как их еще называют, особые "знаки препинания", в математическом языке позволяют менять последовательность арифметических действий. Они вошли в употребление в 16 – начале 17 веков...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ››

Инструменты