The number three six six

Published May 01, 2018

The number three six six

A leap year is associated with a lot of superstitions. But the very the number three six six (366), which means the number of days in such a year, usually does not cause much interest. However, if we look at the number three six six from the point of view of some relations of natural and geometric magnitudes (we also agree with the decimal subdivisions...

Dimension space

Published May 01, 2018

Dimension space

It is useful to dwell in more detail on Wells' peculiar understanding of the time, as the fourth dimension space. To understand this, we will move mentally from the familiar three dimensions space into the world of two dimensions. Such a two-dimensional space, having a length and width, but not at all having a thickness...

Root extraction

Published May 01, 2018

Root extraction

The need for action, exponentiation, and root extraction was caused by a practical need. Since ancient times, people have solved the problem: "find the length of the side of the square, if its area is known". Another 4000 years ago, the Babylonian scholars compiled tables of squares of numbers. In doing so, they were able to find approximate values for extracting the square root from any integer...

Equality sign

Published May 01, 2018

Equality sign

Equality sign in mathematics and other exact sciences write between two identical in size expressions. The first to use the sign of equality was Diophantus. Equality, he denoted by the letter i (from the Greek isos - equal). In ancient and medieval mathematics, equality was designated verbally (for example, estegale). The sign of equality in contemporary form was created by the mathematician...

Al-Kashi's algorithm

Published May 01, 2018

Al-Kashi's algorithm

When carrying out calculations in ancient times, they used various "rules" that simplified these calculations. They were the first algorithms. One of these is the al-Kashi’s algorithm. This algorithm was proposed at the very beginning of the 15th century, although similar procedures were also encountered in the Indian mathematical treatise...

Number pi

Published May 01, 2018

Number pi

Number pi - one of the most known numbers used in the natural sciences (mathematics, physics, engineering, etc.), for many millennia fascinated the minds of great thinkers and mathematicians. At school, we realized that the number pi is the ratio of the circumference to the diameter. William Jones (1675-1749) - English mathematician, the first designated it with a Greek letter...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Число три шесть шесть

Напечатано 09 января, 2012

Число три шесть шесть

С високосным годом связано немало суеверий. Но само число три шесть шесть (366), означающее количество дней в таком году, обычно не вызывает особого интереса. Однако, если посмотреть на число три шесть шесть с точки зрения некоторых соотношений природных и геометрических величин (при этом условимся и десятичные...

Измерения пространства

Напечатано 24 января, 2012

Измерения пространства

Полезно остановиться подробнее на высказанном Уэллсом своеобразном понимании времени, как четвертого измерения пространства. Чтобы уяснить себе это, перенесемся мысленно из знакомого нам пространства трех измерений в мир двух измерений. Таким двухмерным пространством, имеющим длину и ширину, но вовсе не имеющим...

Извлечение корня

Напечатано 09 февраля, 2012

Извлечение корня

Потребность в действиях возведение в степень и извлечение корня была вызвана практической необходимостью. С давних времен люди решали задачу: "Найти длину стороны квадрата, если известна его площадь". Еще 4000 лет назад вавилонские ученые составляли таблицы квадратов чисел. При этом они умели находить приблизительные...

Знак равенства

Напечатано 10 февраля, 2012

Знак равенства

Знак равенства в математике и других точных науках пишут между двумя идентичными по своему размеру выражениями. Первым употребил знак равенства Диофант. Равенство он обозначал буквой i (от греч. isos – равный). В античной и средневековой математике равенство обозначалось словесно (например, estegale). Знак равенства в современной форме...

Алгоритм аль-Каши

Напечатано 13 марта, 2012

Алгоритм аль-Каши

При проведении расчетов в древности пользовались различными "правилами", которые упрощали эти расчеты. Они и были первыми алгоритмами. Один из них – это алгоритм Аль-Каши. Этот алгоритм был предложен в самом начале 15 века, хотя похожие процедуры встречались и в индийском математическом трактате "Чанда-сутра", и в работах...

Число пи

Напечатано 19 марта, 2012

Число пи

Число пи – одно из самых известных нам чисел, использующихся в естественных науках (математике, физике, инженерном деле и т. д.), много тысячелетий увлекало умы великих мыслителей и математиков. В школе мы уяснили, что число пи – это отношение длины окружности к диаметру. Уильям Джонс (1675–1749) – английский...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ››

Инструменты