The famous task of Edward Luke

Published April 26, 2020

The famous task of Edward Luke

At a scientific congress during breakfast, which was attended by many famous mathematicians from different countries, the French mathematician Eduard Luca announced to his assembled colleagues that he wants to offer them one of the most difficult tasks: suppose that every day at noon he leaves from Le Havre to New York a ship...

What are the labyrinths?

Published November 03, 2020

What are the labyrinths?

Labyrinths are one of the mathematical wonders, the origin of which is lost in the legendary twilight of history. Karl Lepsius, the famous Egyptologist, argued that the name "labyrinth" comes from the Egyptian words: "lery" - "holy institution" and "rе-hint" - "mouth of the channel". Other scholars believe that this is a word of Greek origin, meaning "underground passages"...

The second famous theorem of Pythagoras

Published January 04, 2021

The second famous theorem of Pythagoras

Everyone knows the first famous theorem of Pythagoras from school. The second, exceptional in importance, geometric theorem, attributed to Pythagoras, is the theorem on the sum of the angles of a triangle, equal to two right angles. Historians of mathematics are trying to figure out how the brilliant mathematician...

Gulliver's geometry

Published March 22, 2021

Gulliver's geometry

Gulliver's geometry was very well observed by the author of Gulliver's Travels. He very discreetly avoided the danger of being entangled in geometric relations. The reader will no doubt remember that in the land of the Lilliputians a foot was an inch, and in the land of giants, on the contrary, an inch was a foot. In other words, among the Lilliputians...

How much water is flowing in the river?

Published November 07, 2021

How much water is flowing in the river?

One way or another, you can always determine the speed with which the water jets of the river are flowing. The second part of the preparatory work required to calculate how much water is flowing in the river is more difficult - determining the cross-sectional area of the water. To find the size of this area - what is commonly called the "living section" of the river, it is necessary to make a plan of this section...

Apparent dimensions of the moon

Published January 30, 2022

Apparent dimensions of the moon

How big does a full moon appear to you in the sky? From different people it is necessary to hear very different answers to this question. The most unexpected answer can be heard the following: I don’t know. I'm not from here. Therefore, the question of the apparent dimensions of the moon is very interesting...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Tools

Знаменитая задача Эдуарда Люка

Напечатано 26 апреля, 2020

Знаменитая задача Эдуарда Люка

На одном научном конгрессе со время завтрака, на котором присутствовало много известных математиков из разных стран, французский математик Эдуард Люка объявил собравшимся коллегам, что он хочет предложить им одну из самых трудных задач: предположим, что ежедневно в полдень из Гавра в Нью-Йорк отправляется корабль...

Какими бывают лабиринты?

Напечатано 01 ноября, 2020

Какими бывают лабиринты?

Лабиринты - одно из математических чудес, возникновение которого затеряно в легендарном сумраке истории. Карл Лепсиус, знаменитый египтолог, утверждал, что название "лабиринт" происходит от египетских слов: "lерi" – "святое учреждение" и "rе-hint" – "устье канала". Другие же ученые считают, что это слово греческого происхождения, обозначающее "подземные ходы". Возникло ли это слово...

Вторая знаменитая теорема Пифагора

Напечатано 04 января, 2021

Вторая знаменитая теорема Пифагора

Первую знаменитую теорему Пифагора знают все со школьной скамьи. Второй же, исключительной по значению геометрической теоремой, приписываемой Пифагору, является теорема о сумме углов треугольника, равной двум прямым углам. Историки математики стараются выяснить, каким способом гениальный...

Геометрия Гулливера

Напечатано 22 марта, 2021

Геометрия Гулливера

Геометрия Гулливера очень хорошо соблюдалась автором "Путешествий Гулливера". Он с большой осмотрительностью избежал опасности запутаться в геометрических отношениях. Читатель помнит, без сомнения, что в стране лилипутов футу соответствовал дюйм, а в стране великанов, наоборот, дюйму — фут...

Сколько воды протекает в реке?

Напечатано 07 ноября, 2021

Сколько воды протекает в реке?

Так или иначе, можно всегда определить скорость, с какой текут водяные струи реки. Труднее вторая часть подготовительной работы, необходимой для вычисления сколько воды протекает в реке, — определение площади поперечного разреза воды. Чтобы найти величину этой площади — того, что принято называть "живым сечением" реки, — надо изготовить план этого сечения...

Видимые размеры Луны

Напечатано 30 января, 2022

Видимые размеры Луны

Какой величины кажется вам полный месяц на небе? От разных людей приходится слышать весьма различные ответы на этот вопрос. Самый неожиданный ответ можно услышать следующий: не знаю, не здешний я. Поэтому вопрос про видимые размеры Луны очень интересен...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Инструменты