Zinjanthropus

Published February 11, 2018

Zinjanthropus

Zinjanthropus was opened in 1959 in the Olduvai Gorge (Tanzania). So well-known archaeologist and anthropologist Luis Leakey (1903-1972) during the excavations found the remains of another predecessor of modern man. True, after a more thorough study it turned out that this is another branch of the genus Australopithecus, and zinjanthropus was renamed into the Australopithecus of the Boisian one...

"Man skilled"

Published February 11, 2018

Man skilled

"Man skilled" was opened on November 2, 1960 during excavations in the Olduvai gorge. Its age corresponds to approximately 2,1-1,5 million years. The lower jaw with teeth, one molar tooth, two well-preserved parietal bones and bones of the hand were found. Later, most of the skeleton of the leg and clavicle were removed...

Nineveh

Published February 11, 2018

Nineveh

The ancient Nineveh is located on the outskirts of Mosul, 44 km north of Baghdad. The ruins of this city were discovered in the autumn of 1849 by Austin Henry Layard. Nineveh was the last capital of the Assyrian Empire and originated in ancient times. Already the Babylonian king-legislator Hammurabi about 1930 year BC mentions the temple of Ishtar, around which was located Nineveh...

Ashur

Published February 11, 2018

Ashur

The name of the city Ashur (Assyria) was encountered by researchers in many cuneiform texts, but for years, one by one under the spades of archaeologists other cities of Assyria emerged from non-existence - Nineveh, Dur-Sharrukin, Kalah - and the sacred Ashur remained a mystery...

Mari

Published February 11, 2018

Mari

The city Mari has long remained out of sight of archaeologists. Meanwhile, in cuneiform texts found during excavations of Sumerian and Akkadian cities, Mari was mentioned again and again. During the excavations of Babylon, even a statue of Puzur-Ishtar, the king of Mari, was found...

Ebla

Published February 11, 2018

Ebla

In Akkadian, Egyptian, hittite documents, scientists occasionally met the name a certain city Ebla. In the cuneiform tablets of the royal archive found among the ruins of Mari, Ebla is mentioned as a powerful rival of Mari. But where was this city? Most experts agreed that this is an Anatolian city and, therefore, it must be sought in the territory of present-day Turkey...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ››

Tools

Зинджантроп

Напечатано 03 января, 2011

Зинджантроп

Зинджантроп был открыт в 1959 году в Олдувайском ущелье (Танзания). Так известный археолог и антрополог Луис Лики (1903–1972) во время раскопок нашел останки еще одного предшественника современного человека. Правда, после более тщательного изучения оказалось, что это еще одна ветвь рода...

"Человек умелый"

Напечатано 03 января, 2011

Человек умелый

"Человек умелый" был открыт 2 ноября 1960 года при раскопках в олдувайском ущелье. Его возраст соответствует приблизительно 2,1–1,5 млн. лет. Были обнаружены нижняя челюсть с зубами, один коренной зуб, две довольно хорошо сохранившиеся теменные кости и кости руки. Позже были извлечены большая часть...

Ниневия

Напечатано 03 января, 2011

Ниневия

Древняя Ниневия находится на окраине Мосула, в 44 км к северу от Багдада. Руины этого города были открыты осенью 1849 года Остином Генри Лэйярдом. Ниневия была последней столицы Ассирийской империи и возникла в древнейшие времена. Уже вавилонский царь-законодатель Хаммурапи примерно в 1930 году до н. э...

Ашшур

Напечатано 20 февраля, 2011

Ашшур

Название города Ашшур (Ассур) встречалось исследователям во многих клинописных текстах, но шли годы, один за другим под лопатами археологов вставали из небытия другие города Ассирии – Ниневия, Дур-Шаррукин, Калах – а священный Ашшур продолжал оставаться загадкой...

Мари

Напечатано 20 февраля, 2011

Мари

Город Мари долго оставался вне поля зрения археологов. Между тем в клинописных текстах, обнаруженных при раскопках шумерских и аккадских городов, снова и снова упоминался Мари. Во время раскопок Вавилона была найдена даже статуя Пузур-Иштар, царя Мари...

Эбла

Напечатано 20 февраля, 2011

Эбла

В аккадских, египетских, хеттских документах ученым изредка встречалось название некоего города Эбла. В клинописных табличках царского архива, найденного среди развалин Мари, Эбла упоминается как могущественный соперник Мари. Но где находилась Эбла?..

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ››

Инструменты