Troy and Schliemann

Published February 11, 2018

Troy and Schliemann

Once upon a time on the southern shore of the Hellespont (Dardanelles) was the ancient city of Troy, whose walls, according to legend, was built by the god Poseidon himself. The city of Troy lay on the sea trade route from Asia Minor to Pontus Euxines (Black Sea) and was famous for its power and wealth. The last ruler of Troy was the wise old Priam...

Maspero and the "lost pharaohs"

Published February 11, 2018

Maspero and the lost pharaohs

The successor of Opost Marietta as Director of the Egyptian Service antiquities became the French Egyptologist Gaston Maspero (1846-1916). One of the first discoveries of Maspero in Egypt was a unique pyramid with hieroglyphic texts. This was a sensation, since no one ever found any inscriptions in the Egyptian pyramids...

Arabia - the land of the Queen of Sheba

Published February 11, 2018

Arabia - the land of the Queen of Sheba

A large part of Arabia is occupied by deserts and mountains. It's hard to believe that once ancient authors called this land Arabia Felix - "Happy Arabia". However, this name did not apply to the entire peninsula, but only to its southern extremity - to the country in which, according to legend, was the land of Queen of Sheba...

Mangazeya

Published February 11, 2018

Mangazeya

In the 16-17 centuries dozens of urban settlements appeared in Siberia. Created as strongholds to move east, they soon became centers of commerce, crafts and crafts. One of these cities was Mangazeya, located beyond the Arctic Circle, in the lower reaches of the Taz River...

Ryazan treasures

Published February 11, 2018

Ryazan treasures

For many centuries the surrounding peasants, opening the Old Ryazan fort, found here various antiquities. Known and rich Ryazan treasures, which, apparently, contains considerable artistic values. In 1822, one peasant, fearing the edge of the road, came across a treasure, consisting of gold items of exceptional value...

William Pitry

Published February 11, 2018

William Pitry

English archaeologist William Pitry (1853-1942) was one of the most colorful figures in the history of Egyptology. It was one of the most outstanding representatives of the English school of Egyptology. William Pitry spent forty-six years in Egypt. About the past of Egypt, he collected...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ››

Tools

Троя и Шлиман

Напечатано 16 апреля, 2012

Троя и Шлиман

Когда-то на южном берегу Геллеспонта (Дарданеллы) стоял древний город Троя, стены которого, по преданию, воздвиг сам бог Посейдон. Город Троя лежал на морском торговом пути из Малой Азии к Понту Евксинскому. Генрих Шлиман поклялся, что он найдет этот город и покажет всему миру его величие...

Масперо и "потерянные фараоны"

Напечатано 23 апреля, 2012

Масперо и потерянные фараоны

Преемником Опоста Мариетта на посту директора египетской Службы древностей стал французский египтолог Гастон Масперо (1846–1916). Одним из первых открытий Масперо в Египте стала уникальная пирамида с иероглифическими текстами. Масперо открыл и так называемые "потерянные фараоны"...

Аравия – земля царицы Савской

Напечатано 26 апреля, 2012

Аравия – земля царицы Савской

Большую часть Аравии занимают пустыни и горы. Трудно поверить, что когда-то античные авторы именовали этот край Arabia Felix – "Счастливая Аравия". Впрочем, название Аравия относилось не ко всему полуострову, а лишь к его южной оконечности – к той стране, в которой, по преданию, была земля царицы Савской...

Мангазея

Напечатано 08 мая, 2012

Мангазея

В 16–17 вв. в Сибири появились десятки городских поселений. Созданные как опорные пункты для продвижения на восток, они вскоре стали центрами торговли, промыслов и ремесел. Одним из таких городов являлась Мангазея, расположенная за Полярным кругом, в нижнем течении реки Таз...

Клады Рязани

Напечатано 12 мая, 2012

Клады Рязани

Первое упоминание о Рязани встречается на страницах "Повести временных лет". Многочисленность упоминаний Рязани в летописях и сам их характер свидетельствуют о том, что этот город уже в 11–12 вв. был крупным торговым центром. Известны и богатые клады Рязани, содержащие, по-видимому...

Уильям Питри

Напечатано 13 мая, 2012

Уильям Питри

Английский археолог Уильям Питри (1853–1942) был одной из самых колоритных фигур в истории египтологии. Это был один из самых выдающихся представителей английской школы египтологии. Уильям Питри провел в Египте сорок шесть лет. О прошлом Египта он собрал такое количество...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ››

Инструменты