Military robinsons

Published February 02, 2020

Military robinsons

Unlike civilian robinsons, military robinsons hid for a long time on individual islands of the Pacific Ocean. These are mainly former Japanese military personnel, a significant part of whom, although they knew about the end of World War II, did not recognize the surrender of Japan. Many of these samurai robinsons could not stand it, surrendered to the Americans and thus returned to civilized life...

Geographical names-gifts

Published May 24, 2020

Geographical names-gifts

As you probably noticed, many geographical names are formed from proper names. At the same time, many geographical names bear the names of completely random people. Such geographical names-gifts were fixed on the geographical map with the light hand of some travelers...

Langkawi sky bridge

Published November 22, 2020

Langkawi sky bridge

To overcome obstacles, especially water ones, people often built bridges. Their designs are so diverse that almost everyone has their own flavor, feature and, of course, attractiveness. But sometimes a person's fantasy goes far beyond ordinary pragmatism. And it gives rise to incredible wonders of engineering, among which one of the first can be called the Langkawi Sky Bridge, opened to the public in 2005...

Drawings of mount Brandberg

Published January 29, 2021

Drawings of mount Brandberg

In South Africa, amid the gloomy and wild desert, which once had the rather expressive name of the Skeleton Coast, and is now called the Namib, the big red Brandberg mountain (translated from German as "flaming mountain") rises. Unfriendly, almost devoid of vegetation, it conceals a rather interesting riddle, which scientists have been struggling to solve for many years. These are the famous drawings of mount Brandberg!..

Geographic names that "suggest" and "deceive"

Published April 13, 2021

Geographic names that suggest and deceive

There are many rather eloquent names on the geographical map, which both "suggest" and "deceive". They are, as clues: the East European Plain, the Middle Lower Danube, North German, North French, Caspian, Mississippian, Amazonian, Indo-Gangetic lowlands, Volga Upland, etc. You will hear such a name and you will immediately understand (even if you do not know for sure) where the named geographical object is located...

Time to travel. Part 1

Published December 19, 2021

Time to travel. Part 1

In addition to traveling around the world, some unusual and very interesting supermarathons of enthusiastic travelers should be noted. True, you can't count all of them, but, of course, it is necessary to mention them. The routes of their travels passed through different lands, both the duration and the ways of movement were different, but they are united by their irrepressible enthusiasm for changing places, the desire to learn about our planet...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 ››

Tools

Военные робинзоны

Напечатано 02 февраля, 2020

Военные робинзоны

В отличие от гражданських робинзонов, длительное время на отдельных островах Тихого океана скрывались военные робинзоны. В основном это бывшие японские военнослужащие, значительная часть которых хоть и знала об окончании второй мировой войны, но не признавала капитуляции Японии. Многие из этих робинзонов-самураев не выдержали...

Географические названия-подарки

Напечатано 24 мая, 2020

Географические названия-подарки

Как вы, наверное, заметили многие географические названия образованы от собственных имен. При этом, многие географические названия носят имена совершенно случайных людей. Такие географические названия-подарки закрепились на географической карте с легкой руки некоторых путешественников...

Небесный мост Лангкави

Напечатано 22 ноября, 2020

Небесный мост Лангкави

Для преодоления преград, особенно водных, человек часто сооружал мосты. Их конструкции настолько разнообразны, что практически каждый имеет свою изюминку, особенность и, конечно же, привлекательность. Но иногда фантазия человека выходит далеко за рамки обычного прагматизма. И рождает невероятные чудеса инженерной мысли, среди которых одним из первых можно назвать Небесный мост Лангкави, открытый...

Розписи горы Брандберг

Напечатано 29 января, 2021

Розписи горы Брандберг

В Южной Африке среди мрачной и дикой пустыни, которая когда-то имела довольно выразительное название Берег Скелетов, а ныне называется Намиб, вздымается большая красная гора Брандберг (в переводе с немецкого "пылающая гора"). Неприветливая, почти лишенная растительности, она таит в себе довольно интересную загадку, над выяснением которой вот уже много лет бьются ученые. Это знаменитые розписи горы Брандберг!..

Географические названия, которые "подсказывают" и "обманывают"

Напечатано 13 апреля, 2021

Географические названия, которые подсказывают и обманывают

На географической карте есть много довольно красноречивых географических названий, которые и "подсказывают", и "обманывают". Они, как подсказки: Восточно-Европейская равнина, Средне Нижне-Дунайская, Северо-Германская, Северо-Французская, Прикаспийская, Миссисипская, Амазонская, Индо-Гангская низменности, Приволжская возвышенность и т.п...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ››

Инструменты