Errors on the geographic map

Published May 13, 2018

Errors on the geographic map

Large errors on the geographical map made the French navigator Jacques Cartier. Exploring the northeastern shores of the open New World, he reached the mouth of an unknown, full-flowing river. Landed on its wooded shore, where several Indian wigwams were located, he, pointing out straight, asked the residents who came out to meet the name...

Karsts

Published May 13, 2018

Karsts

Uneven ground, covered with funnels, dips, relief depressions, with unexpectedly disappearing or emerging creeks and streams - that's what the Karst mountain plateau looks like. It is located in Slovenia and it was there that these features of the structure of the earth's surface were first studied. Hence the name karst phenomena or karsts...

The discovery by the vikings of America

Published May 13, 2018

The discovery by the vikings of America

Some of the Vikings engaged in robbery and terrorized their cruelty, others, known as the Normans, in search of new lands moved to the north-east of France, to the east coast of England, to Sicily and the secluded islands of Iceland. In the same scenario, there was a the discovery by the Vikings of America...

Stone balls of Costa Rica

Published May 13, 2018

Stone balls of Costa Rica

In 1940, the United Fruit Company began clearing the tropical jungle in Costa Rica, in the delta of the Diquois River. During the works mysterious stone balls of Costa Rica were discovered. In total, 44 stone balls were found in this area. They differed significantly in size: from a sphere as big as an orange to a giant weighing 16 tons and a diameter...

Devil's tower

Published May 13, 2018

Devil's tower

Devil's tower - columnar rock (the so-called geological separation), reminiscent of a tower made up of stacked individual stone pillars, located in the state of Wyoming, USA. This mountain of unusually regular shape, which arose 200 million years ago, for a long time gave the impression of an artificial structure...

"I do not understand you" on the map

Published May 13, 2018

I do not understand you on the map

Expression - ”I do not understand you” became fatal for some names on the geographical map. On the geographic map, there are some names that appeared due to some or other errors. Let's talk about some of them. In 1517 the Spaniard Fernandez...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Tools

Ошибки на географической карте

Напечатано 02 мая, 2012

Ошибки на географической карте

Большие ошибки на географической карте сделал французский мореплаватель Жак Картье. Исследуя северо-восточные берега открытого Нового Мира, он достиг устья неизвестной полноводной реки. Высадившись на ее лесистом берегу, где было расположено несколько индейских вигвамов, он, показывая напрямик, спросил жителей...

Карсты

Напечатано 06 июня, 2012

Карсты

Неровная земля, покрытая воронками, провалами, понижениями рельефа, с неожиданно исчезающими или появляющимися ручьями и потоками – вот как выглядит горное плато Карст. Находится оно в Словении и именно там были впервые изучены эти особенности строения земной поверхности. Отсюда и пошло название карстовые явления или карсты...

Открытие викингами Америки

Напечатано 07 июня, 2012

Открытие викингами Америки

На далеком севере в Средние века жили отважные мореплаватели - викинги. Они населяли некогда все скандинавское побережье. Но по мере того, как население росло и пахотной земли оставалось все меньше, многие из них стали уходить в разные части света. По такому же сценарию и произошло открытие викингами Америки...

Каменные шары Коста-Рики

Напечатано 18 мая, 2013

Каменные шары Коста-Рики

В 1940 году "Юнайтед фрут компани" начала расчистку участков тропических джунглей в Коста-Рике, в дельте реки Дикуис. В ходе работ были обнаружены таинственные каменные шары Коста-Рики. Всего в этом районе было найдено 44 каменных шара. Они значительно отличались по размерам: от шара величиной с апельсин до гиганта...

Башня Дьявола

Напечатано 23 мая, 2013

Башня Дьявола

Башня Дьявола - столбчатая скала (так называемая геологическая отдельность), напоминающая башню, состоящую из сложенных пучком отдельных каменных столбов, расположенная в штате Вайоминг, США. Эта гора необычно правильной формы, возникшая 200 млн. лет назад, долгое время производила впечатление искусственного...

"Я вас не понимаю" на карте

Напечатано 25 июля, 2013

Я вас не понимаю на карте

На географической карте есть некоторые названия, появившиеся вследствие тех или иных недоразумений. Выражение - я вас не понимаю стало роковым для некоторых названий на географической карте. Расскажем о некоторых из них. В 1517 испанец Фернандес де Кордоба вышел из порта Гавана, чтобы захватить в Гондурасе больше рабов для своих плантаций и золотых рудников...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Инструменты