New Guinea and the tribe of the tuna

Published May 13, 2018

New Guinea and the tribe of the tuna

Near the northern shores of Australia, among the spaces Pacific is the second largest after Greenland island of the world - New Guinea. In our imagination, New Guinea is inseparably linked with the name of the Russian explorer M.M. Miklukho-Maklai. He lived for a long time on his north-eastern coast, which is now called the Maklai Coast...

The bottom of the Arctic Ocean

Published May 13, 2018

The bottom of the Arctic Ocean

In March 1948, a high-latitude expedition was asked to explore the depths and the bottom of the Arctic Ocean. Researchers landed on an ice floe near the Novosibirsk islands. Despite the severe frost, hydrologists Ya. Gakkel and V. Timofeev immediately made the first measurement of the depth of The Arctic Ocean. The automatic winch counter showed 2750 m...

The Arctic lands

Published May 13, 2018

The Arctic lands

In 1707, while hunting whales in the cold waters of the Arctic Ocean, Dutch captain Gillis saw in the north of Spitsbergen the high winding banks of some unknown Arctic land with flat peaks. The large concentrations of ice Gillis did not allow to reach this land, but Gillis sketched its banks in detail and mapped it...

Kara Sea

Published May 13, 2018

Kara Sea

For a long time scientists have been interested in the Kara Sea. It was through him that the Great Northern Sea Route was to pass. Mastering this path was the cherished dream of the best scientists. The Kara Sea is covered with ice even in summer - this is the so-called "ice bag". And in addition to this there is almost no sunny days...

Ocean waters and land

Published May 13, 2018

Ocean waters and land

Ocean waters and land have long ceased fighting among themselves. Tides, invading land, blurred the shores and carried away with outflow from the shore rocks. Storm waves and coastal currents intensified the destructive work of the tides...

"Valuable" rivers

Published May 13, 2018

Valuable rivers

In the 15th century, numerous Portuguese seafarers were heading to the shores of Africa to find the mysterious very "valuable" river that allegedly flows into Atlantic Ocean. In those days in Europe, there were many legends about so-called "valuable" rivers. But all the seekers of glory and gold were returning home with nothing...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Tools

Новая Гвинея и племя дуна

Напечатано 23 января, 2012

Новая Гвинея и племя дуна

Недалеко от северных берегов Австралии, среди пространств Тихого океана расположен второй за размерами остров земного шара – Новая Гвинея. В нашем воображении Новая Гвинея неразрывно связана с именем русского исследователя М. М. Миклухо-Маклая. Оказывается, на этом острове проживает необычное племя дуна...

Дно Северного Ледовитого океана

Напечатано 31 января, 2012

Дно Северного Ледовитого океана

В марте 1948 г. одной высокоширотной экспедиции было поставлено задание исследовать глубины и дно Северного Ледовитого океана. Исследователи высадилась на льдину недалеко от Новосибирских островов. Несмотря на сильный мороз, гидрологи Я. Гаккель и В. Тимофеев сразу сделали первое измерение глубины Северного Ледовитого океана...

Земли Арктики

Напечатано 01 февраля, 2012

Земли Арктики

В 1707 году, во время охоты на китов в холодных водах Северного Ледовитого океана, голландский капитан Джиллис увидел на севере от Шпицбергена высокие извилистые берега какой-то неизвестной земли Арктики с плоскими вершинами. Большие сосредоточения льда Джиллис не дали добраться до этой земли, но Джиллис довольно...

Карское море

Напечатано 07 февраля, 2012

Карское море

Издавна ученых интересовало Карское море. Именно через него должен был проходить Большой Северный морской путь. Освоения этого пути было заветной мечтой лучших ученых. Карское море даже летом покрыто льдом – это так называемый "ледяной мешок"...

Океанские воды и суша

Напечатано 07 февраля, 2012

Океанские воды и суша

Океанские воды и суша издавна не прекращают борьбу между собой. То, что воды Адриатического моря затопляют Венецию, не новость. Но выяснилось, что подобное грозит еще одному городу Италии – Равенне. За последние 80 лет суша, на которой стоит город, опустилась почти на полметра, то есть, вдвое больше, чем в Венеции. К тому же, оседание суши неуклонно продолжается...

"Ценные" реки

Напечатано 01 мая, 2012

Ценные реки

В 15 веке многочисленные португальские мореплаватели направлялись к берегам Африки, чтобы отыскать таинственную очень "ценную" реку, которая якобы впадает в Атлантический океан. В те времена в Европе было распространенно много легенд про "ценные" реки. Но все искатели славы и золота возвращались домой ни с чем...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Инструменты