Earths form

Published May 13, 2018

Earths form

From the 3rd century BC, when the Greek mathematician Eratosthenes made his measurements, during the nineteen centuries it was believed that the Earths form is a ball. Only in the 17th century it became clear that gravity in Cayenne in French Guiana was different from gravity in Paris. And then Newton suggested that the form...

New Holland

Published May 13, 2018

New Holland

It is known that the fifth continent Australia was opened by the Dutch seafarer Willem Jansson in 1606. In 1644, New Holland was explored by Abel Tasman along the northern and northwestern coast. Due to the unusual climate, New Holland has not been inhabited for a long time. In 1770, James Cook...

Sounding stones

Published May 13, 2018

Sounding stones

In France, in Brittany, there are sounding stones Guild. They all consist of an amphibole. The length of the largest of the sounding stones is 6,5 meters, and in the girth it has 7 meters, so the approximate weight is about 75 tons. When striking about this stone, he publishes sound, similar to a ringing a large bell, in the tone...

The Atlantic Ocean

Published May 13, 2018

The Atlantic Ocean

The Atlantic Ocean is the second largest of all the oceans on Earth. The name comes from the well-known in ancient Greece myth about Atlanta, a titan holding on its shoulders the celestial vault at the extreme western point of the Mediterranean. It extends in the meridional direction from north to south from the Arctic Ocean to the Southern...

Sources of fresh water

Published May 13, 2018

Sources of fresh water

Once the fishermen of the Lebanese city of Tripoli discovered in the Mediterranean Sea, sources of fresh water, 500 m from the shore, and so cold that the fish that accidentally gets here immediately die. Where do these sources of fresh and cold water come from, no one knew. This unusual phenomenon was called the "Lebanese miracle"...

Indian Ocean

Published May 13, 2018

Indian Ocean

To get out of the Atlantic Ocean in the Indian Ocean can be done in two ways. One is around Africa. This is the path of the cruel and fearless Portuguese navigator Vasco da Gama. The other way is shorter: through Gibraltar to the Mediterranean Sea, further through the Suez Canal, the Red Sea and the Bab-El-Manuel Straits...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Tools

Форма Земли

Напечатано 13 декабря, 2011

Форма Земли

С 3 века до н. э., когда греческий математик Эратосфен произвел свои измерения, на протяжении девятнадцати столетий считалось, что форма Земли – это шар. Лишь в 17 веке выяснилось, что сила тяжести в Кайенне во Французской Гвиане отлична от силы тяжести в Париже. И тогда-то Ньютон высказал предположение, что...

Новая Голландия

Напечатано 13 декабря, 2011

Новая Голландия

Известно, что пятый континент Австралия был открыт голландским мореплавателем Виллемом Янсзоном в 1606 году. В 1644 году Новая Голландия была исследована Абелем Тасманом вдоль северного и северозападного побережья. Из-за непривычности климатических условий Новая Голландия долгое время...

Звучащие камни

Напечатано 13 декабря, 2011

Звучащие камни

Во Франции, в Бретани, находятся звучащие камни Гильдо. Все они состоят из амфиболя. Длина самого крупного из звучащих камней 6,5 метра, а в обхвате он имеет 7 метров, так что приблизительный вес составляет около 75 тонн. При ударе об этот камень он издает звук, подобный звону большого колокола...

Атлантический океан

Напечатано 19 декабря, 2011

Атлантический океан

Атлантический океан по величине второй среди всех океанов на Земле. Он простирается в меридиональном направлении с севера на юг от Северного Ледовитого океана до Южного, Антарктического. На западе его естественной границей является побережье Америки, на востоке – побережья Европы и Африки. К Северной Атлантике...

Источники пресной воды

Напечатано 19 декабря, 2011

Источники пресной воды

Как-то рыбаки ливанского города Триполи обнаружили в Средиземном море за 500 м от берега мощные источники пресной воды, причем такой холодной, что рыба, которая ненароком попадает сюда, сразу гибнет. Откуда берутся эти источники пресной и холодной воды, никто не знал. Это необыкновенное явление получило название "ливанского чуда"...

Индийский океан

Напечатано 20 декабря, 2011

Индийский океан

Попасть из Атлантики в Индийский океан можно двумя путями. Один – вокруг Африки. Это путь жестокого и бесстрашного португальского мореплавателя Васко да Гамы. Другой путь короче: через Гибралтар в Средиземное море, дальше – через Суэцкий канал, Красное море и Баб-Эль-Мандевский пролив в Аденский залив и Аравийское море...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Инструменты