Where did the boat leave?

Published April 01, 2018

Where did the boat leave?

Imagine that an oar boat is sailing along the lake, and let, for example, arrow a represent the direction and speed of its movement. A sailboat is passing by; Arrow b shows its direction and speed. If you are asked where the boat sailed, you, of course, immediately point at right angles to the rowing boat point M on the shore. But if you ask the passengers of a rowboat...

Galileo and his mistakes

Published April 01, 2018

Galileo and his mistakes

Who does not know the great Italian scientist of the Renaissance, by the name of Galileo? The development of mechanics in the pre-Newtonian era as a science is associated with his name. The greatest merit of Galileo as a scientist-mechanic was that he was the first to lay the foundations of scientific dynamics, which dealt a crushing blow to the dynamics...

Theories

Published April 01, 2018

Theories

The emergence of fundamentally new facts, inexplicable within the framework of the existing theory, leads to the development of a more general theory that "absorbs" and previous concepts. If, in the process of cognition, it turns out that some group of regularities can be deduced from regularities more general, this does not at all mean that the former...

Edison rock

Published April 01, 2018

Edison rock

Shortly before his death, the famous American inventor Edison wished to distinguish the most sensible young man in his country, appointing him generous financial support for further education. From all parts of the republic young people were sent to him, one from each state, selected by the school authorities. These fifty young men were subjected to a written examination in Edison's house...

Man as a machine

Published April 01, 2018

Man as a machine

Descartes, a great thinker of the 17th century, regarded man as a machine. A modern scientist would be more inclined to call our organism rather a factory than just a machine. Man is a "plant", which has its own special "technique". In this plant there is a division of labor, - different organs perform a very definite function, - and their own control system with the help of nerves...

Robert Wood pipe

Published April 01, 2018

Robert Wood pipe

In 1929 in one of the London theaters there was a rehearsal of the play, the time of action in which, in the course of the play, was to be transferred from our days to 1763. The director wanted very much that during the darkening on stage the audience prepared for almost a one and a half-century jump in action, but how to do it, the director could not think of...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Tools

Где отчалила лодка?

Напечатано 12 февраля, 2012

Где отчалила лодка

Вообразите, что по озеру плывет весельная лодка, и пусть, например, стрелка а изображает направление и скорость ее движения. Наперерез идет парусная лодка; стрелка b изображает ее направление и скорость. Если вас спросят, где отчалила лодка, вы, конечно, сразу укажете под прямым углом к весельной лодке пункт М на берегу. Но если...

Галилей и его ошибки

Напечатано 24 марта, 2012

Галилей и его ошибки

Кто не знает великого итальянского ученого эпохи Возрождения по фамилии Галилей? Развитие механики в доньютоновскую эпоху как науки связано с его именем. Наибольшей заслугой Галилея как ученого-механика было то, что он первым заложил основы научной динамики. Но Галилей делал и ошибки...

Теории

Напечатано 25 мая, 2012

Теории

Появление принципиально новых фактов, необъяснимых в рамках существующей теории, ведет к разработке теории более общей, которая "вбирает в себя" и прежние представления. Если в процессе познания оказывается, что какая-то группа закономерностей может быть выведена из закономерностей более общих, то это отнюдь не означает, что первые...

Скала Эдисона

Напечатано 13 января, 2013

Скала Эдисона

Незадолго до смерти знаменитый американский изобретатель Эдисон пожелал отличить самого сметливого юношу своей страны, назначив ему щедрую денежную поддержку. Со всех концов республики были направлены к нему молодые люди. Этим полсотням юношей в доме Эдисона нужно было решить интересную задачу под названием скала Эдисона...

Человек как машина

Напечатано 17 января, 2013

Человек как машина

Декарт, великий мыслитель 17 века, рассматривал человека как машину. Современный ученый был бы более склонен назвать наш организм скорей фабрикой, чем только машиной. Человек – "завод", который имеет свою особую "технику". В этом заводе имеется разделение труда, – различные органы исполняют вполне определенную функцию, – и своя система...

Труба Вуда

Напечатано 18 февраля, 2013

Труба Вуда

В 1929 году в одном из лондонских театров шла репетиция пьесы, время действия в которой по ходу спектакля должно было переноситься от наших дней к 1763 году. Для этого физик Роберт Вуд соорудил специальную трубу. Труба Вуда была толще самой большой басовой трубы церковного органа...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Инструменты