Magma

Published May 18, 2018

Magma

The Earth's crust, that is, the solid, stone shell of the Earth on which we live is a comparatively thin crust on the surface of our planet. Magma is a molten rock mass saturated with various hot gases and superheated water vapor. In its area, very high temperatures and colossal pressures dominate: the earth's crust is a solidified magma...

Apatite

Published May 18, 2018

Apatite

The name of the mineral apatite, which crystallizes in the pyramidal hemihedral section of the hexagonal system, says a lot about its mystery. For a long time it was mixed with aquamarine, fluorspar, hence the name. Apatite forms prismatic crystals (see fig.) with the planes of the pyramid, the base-pinead, is also found in the form of crystalline masses...

Pyrite

Published May 18, 2018

Pyrite

Pyrite (from the Greek word "feast" fire) is a sulfuric or iron pyrite, the most common mineral from the group of sulphides. This mineral is of great technical importance, being at present the main material for the production of sulfuric acid. Mineral pyrite is found in a yellowish or greenish-gray color with metallic sheen...

Properties of minerals

Published May 18, 2018

Properties of minerals

The first properties of minerals are homogeneity, meaning the equality of physical and chemical properties in all or in parallel directions. Homogeneous minerals form two groups. The first group includes amorphous or isotropic minerals. The physical properties of minerals, for example, elasticity, adhesion, electrical conductivity, are equal in all directions...

Hardness of minerals

Published May 18, 2018

Hardness of minerals

To determine the hardness of minerals, the Mohs scale, proposed in 1811 by Friedrich Moos, is widely used in jewelry and gemology. This scale is a list of ten minerals with numbers from 1 to 10, which serve to determine the relative hardness of minerals...

Amethyst

Published May 18, 2018

Amethyst

The name of the mineral amethyst, like many others, is of Greek origin - amethyst is obtained from the word "amethystos" - non-drinker. It expresses the belief of the ancients that this stone protected its owner from drunkenness. Mineral is a beautiful blue or violet variety of quartz, used as an ornament like precious stones...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Магма

Напечатано 09 января, 2012

Магма

Земная кора, т. е. та твердая, каменная оболочка Земли, на которой мы живем, – это сравнительно тоненькая корочка на поверхности нашей планеты. Магма – расплавленная каменная масса, насыщенная различными горячими газами и перегретыми парами воды. В области магмы господствуют очень высокие...

Апатит

Напечатано 09 января, 2012

Апатит

Название минерала апатит, который кристаллизуется в пирамидальном гемиэдрическом отделении гексагональной системы, многое говорит о его загадочности. Долгое время его смешивали с аквамарином, плавиковым шпатом, отсюда и название (в переводе обманываю). Апатит образует призматические кристаллы...

Пирит

Напечатано 09 января, 2012

Пирит

Пирит (от греческого слова "пир" огонь) – это серный или железный колчедан, наиболее распространенный минерал из группы сульфидов. Этот минерал имеет большое техническое значение, являясь в настоящее время главнейшим материалом для производства серной кислоты...

Свойства минералов

Напечатано 11 января, 2012

Свойства минералов

Первые свойства минералов – это гомогенность, означающая равенство физических и химических свойств во всех или в параллельных направлениях. Гомогенные минералы образуют две группы. К первой группе относятся аморфные или изотропные минералы. Физические...

Твердость минералов

Напечатано 13 января, 2012

Твердость минералов

Чтобы определить твердость минералов, в ювелирном деле и геммологии широко применяется шкала Мооса, предложенная в 1811 году Фридрихом Моосом. Эта шкала являет собой перечень десяти минералов с номерами от 1 до 10, которые служат для определения относительной твердости минералов...

Аметист

Напечатано 13 января, 2012

Аметист

Название минерала аметист, как и многих других, имеет греческое происхождение – аметист получается от слова "аметистос" – непьющий. Оно выражает собою поверье древних, что аметист предохранял его владельца от пьянства. Минерал является красивой синей или фиолетовой разновидностью кварца, употребляемый как украшение наподобие...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Инструменты