Chrysolite

Published May 18, 2018

Chrysolite

Chrysolite - transparent golden-green noble mineral. The name came from the Greek words "hrisos" - gold and "lithos" - stone. Sometimes it has a herbal, olive or brown shade. It is also called peridot. Hardness of chrysolite varies in different directions (6,5- 7)...

Chrysoprase

Published May 18, 2018

Chrysoprase

Chrysoprase is the closest relative agate and carnelian, and each represents a kind of chalcedony. However, every stone lover knows agate and carnelian, and chrysoprase is not so widely known. This is unfair, because all gemologists indicate that this stone is the most valuable variety of chalcedony, including more valuable...

Jasper

Published May 18, 2018

Jasper

Jasper is a dense siliceous rock. It is opaque. The origin of its name is lost in the depths of centuries. It could have come from the Greek jasper, the Persian jasper or other analogues. In nature it occurs in the form of massive formations. Depending on the place of extraction, jasper often have specific names. Thus, the Nukirchner jasper...

Smoky quartz

Published May 18, 2018

Smoky quartz

The ancient Russian name smoky quartz - crystal-smazen. Called him and Rauch-topaz (rouh means smoke). But already in our time the synonym was abandoned, considering that smoky quartz has nothing to do with topaz. The name corresponds to its color - smoky, gray, brownish-gray. Stones are completely black, "night", the colors are called...

Snake stone

Published May 18, 2018

Snake stone

Snake stone is widely known all over the world as an ornamental stone. The name of this stone comes from the word "snake", because the gem is colored like a snake skin. In the English version, it is called serpentine, which is also associated with a snake - from the English word "serp" - a snake...

Beryl

Published May 18, 2018

Beryl

Beryl - mineral hexagonal system, bilicate of aluminum and beryllium, which has a number of varieties (the origin of the name is unknown). Color ordinary beryl yellowish, greenish, bluish, brownish, without even coloring. Colorless beryls are very rare. Glitter is glass...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Tools

Хризолит

Напечатано 15 марта, 2012

Хризолит

Хризолит – прозрачный золотисто-зеленый благородный минерал. Название произошло от греческих слов "хрисос" – золото и "литос" – камень. Иногда имеет травяной, оливковый или бурый оттенки. Называют его также перидот. Твердость хризолита изменяется в различных направлениях (6,5–7). Это мешает ювелирной обработке...

Хризопраз

Напечатано 16 марта, 2012

Хризопраз

Хризопраз – это ближайший родственник агата и сердолика, и каждый из них представляет собой разновидность халцедона. Однако агат и сердолик знает каждый любитель камня, а хризопраз известен не так широко. Это несправедливо, поскольку все геммологи указывают на то, что хризопраз - наиболее ценная разновидность халцедона...

Яшма

Напечатано 18 марта, 2012

Яшма

Яшма представляет собой плотную кремнистую породу. Непрозрачна. Происхождение названия ее теряется в глубине веков. Оно могло произойти от греческого "яспис", персидского "яшм" или других аналогов. В природе встречается в виде массивных образований. В зависимости от места добычи яшмы часто имею...

Дымчатый кварц

Напечатано 15 мая, 2012

Дымчатый кварц

Старинное русское название дымчатого кварца – хрусталь-смазень. Называли его и раух-топазом (раух значит дым). Но уже в наше время от синонима отказались, учитывая, что дымчатый кварц никакого отношения к топазу не имеет. Название соответствует его цвету – дымчатый, серый, коричнево-серый. Камни совсем черного...

Змеевик

Напечатано 16 мая, 2012

Змеевик

Змеевик широко известен во всем мире как поделочный камень. Название этого камня произошло от слова "змея", потому, что окрашен самоцвет как змеиная кожа. В английском варианте называют его серпентин, что тоже связано со змеей от английского слова "serp" – змея. Встречается в виде сплошных плотных масс или сростков различных кристаллов...

Берилл

Напечатано 07 июля, 2012

Берилл

Берилл – минерал гексагональной системы, бисиликат алюминия и бериллия, имеющий ряд разновидностей (происхождение названия неизвестно). Цвет обыкновенного берилла желтоватый, зеленоватый, голубоватый, буроватый, без ровной окраски. Бесцветные бериллы очень редки. Блеск стеклянный...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Инструменты