How to get sugar from sawdust?

Published April 14, 2018

How to get sugar from sawdust?

Sugar from sawdust can be obtained by hydrolysis, that is, decomposition with water. This is a very common chemical process. Sawdust and other wood waste contain carbohydrate cellulose. From it in the hydrolysis plants glucose is prepared, which can be used in different ways. Most often it is converted into alcohol, the starting product for many chemical syntheses...

What is extraction?

Published December 16, 2018

What is extraction?

Extraction is a chemical process that is very common in industry. It is used in the chemical, oil refining, food, metallurgical, pharmaceutical and other industries. Scientifically, extraction refers to a method of extracting a substance from a solution or a dry mixture using a suitable solvent (extractant). Liquid extraction involves the transfer of one (or more) soluble substances contained...

Redox reactions

Published March 10, 2019

Redox reactions

In redox reactions, atoms of some substances attach electrons, while others give electrons. The first ones are called oxidizers, the second ones are reducing agents. We will show several experiments of redox reactions. For a fresh potato slice, drip with diluted iodine tincture: a blue color will appear. This starch contained in potatoes turns blue in the presence of free iodine...

Noble patina

Published May 19, 2019

Noble patina

Copper and bronze objects in humid air are gradually covered with green bloom; Ancient candlesticks and door handles, mantel clocks and bronze statues in the squares turn green and dark. The plaque formed on them is the so-called noble patina, or antique patina, as it is also called. Noble patina is very appreciated by art lovers...

Gelatin to help

Published October 27, 2019

Gelatin to help

How many of you haven't cooked a jelly? This is when you cook for a long time, for example, bones, and then cool the broth. By the way, aspic is not only a culinary concept, but also a chemical one. An extensive group of colloidal systems is called jelly and is formed due to the fact that the bones contain a special protein substance - gelatin. By the way, it is sold in stores in a well-cleaned form...

Experiments with amylases

Published January 05, 2020

Experiments with amylases

Enzymes accelerate the course of many chemical reactions, but they do it selectively. Each of them has its own narrow "specialty" - the same process is sometimes accelerated by several enzymes. Let us consider enzymes that destroy starch with the addition of water molecules to its "fragments", i.e. hydrolytic enzymes. To do this, we will carry out experiments with amylases and check how they act on human and animal amylases...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Tools

Как получить сахар из опилок?

Напечатано 01 апреля, 2018

Как получить сахар из опилок?

Сахар из опилок можно получить гидролизом, т. е. разложением водой. Это очень распространенный химический процесс. Опилки и другие древесные отходы содержат углевод клетчатку (целлюлозу). Из нее на гидролизных заводах готовят глюкозу, которую можно использовать по-разному. Чаще всего ее превращают в спирт, исходный продукт для множества химических синтезов...

Что такое экстракция?

Напечатано 16 декабря, 2018

Что такое экстракция?

Экстракция – это химический процесс, который очень распространен в промышленности. Она применяется в химической, нефтеперерабатывающей, пищевой, металлургической, фармацевтической и других отраслях. По научному, экстракцией называют способ извлечения вещества из раствора или сухой смеси с помощью подходящего растворителя...

Окислительно-восстановительные реакции

Напечатано 10 марта, 2019

Окислительно-восстановительные реакции

В окислительно-восстановительных реакциях атомы одних веществ присоединяют электроны, а других – отдают электроны. Первые носят название окислителей, вторые – восстановителей. Покажем несколько опытов окислительно-восстановительных реакций. На свежий срез картофеля капните разбавленной йодной настойкой: появится синяя окраска. Это крахмал, содержащийся в картофеле...

Благородная патина

Напечатано 19 мая, 2019

Благородная патина

Медные и бронзовые предметы во влажном воздухе постепенно покрываются зеленым налетом; зеленеют и темнеют старинные подсвечники и дверные ручки, каминные часы и бронзовые статуи на площадях. Образовавшийся на них налет — так называемая благородная патина, или античная патина, как ее еще называют. Благородная патина...

Желатина в помощь

Напечатано 27 октября, 2019

Желатина в помощь

Кто из вас не варил студень? Это когда долго варить, например, кости, а потом отвар остудить. Между прочим, студень – понятие не только кулинарное, но и химическое. Обширная группа коллоидных систем названа студнями и образуется благодаря тому, что в костях содержится особое белковое вещество – желатина. Она, кстати, продается в магазинах в хорошо очищенном виде...

Опыты с амилазами

Напечатано 05 января, 2020

Опыты с амилазами

Ферменты ускоряют течение многих химических реакций, нo делают это избирательно. У каждого из них своя узкая "специальность" – один и тот же процесс ускоряется иногда несколькими ферментами. Рассмотрим ферменты, разрушающие крахмал с присоединением к его "осколкам" молекул воды, т.е. гидролитические ферменты. Для этого, проведем опыты с амилазами и проверим, как действуют на крахмал амилазы человека и животных...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ››

Инструменты