The caoutchouc

Published April 14, 2018

The caoutchouc

Word caoutchouc comes from the Indian word "caou" - tree and "tchouc" - cry. Notched bark of the tree Hevea, the Indians of South America made it "cry" and collected effluent juice - latex when heated latex smallest contained therein resin beads combined and precipitated. Washing the precipitate and maintaining it over the fire, the Indians received...

Liquid metal

Published April 14, 2018

Liquid metal

The statement that mercury is the only liquid metal at room temperature (18-22 degrees Celsius) is known to everyone from school years. It is invariably reproduced in many current manuals and even reference books and encyclopedias on chemistry and metallurgy. The liquid metal of France, melting at a temperature of 8 degrees Celsius, eliminated the mercury monopoly...

Kerosene

Published April 14, 2018

Kerosene

Kerosene is a combustible mixture of liquid hydrocarbons (from C8 to C15) with a boiling point in the range 150-2500 C, transparent, colorless ( or slightly yellowish), slightly oily to the touch. The very interpretation of the word "kerosene" is already curious...

Drawing with iodine

Published April 14, 2018

Drawing with iodine

What good is the experience of drawing with iodine - everything you need for it, probably, is at home: a candle, pharmacy iodine (alcohol solution, iodine tincture) and some worthless iron object - an old door hinge, a key from an unknown lock or a lock whose keys are lost. The metal surface on which iodine will be painted, polish the emery cloth to a shine...

The adsorption

Published April 14, 2018

The adsorption

With the physicochemical phenomenon, which will now be discussed, probably everyone knows, although, perhaps, not everyone knows that it is called adsorption. Even if you did not pass adsorption in the classroom, you observed it repeatedly. As soon as you put an inkblot on paper or, worse, on clothes, then immediately get acquainted with this phenomenon...

Svante Arrhenius and electrolytic dissociation

Published April 14, 2018

Svante Arrhenius and electrolytic dissociation

In 1884, the great Swedish chemist Svante Arrhenius in his doctoral dissertation first introduced the world to his famous teaching - electrolytic dissociation. The new theory was so revolutionary that it caused extraordinary twists of fate in the life of this scientist. At first the whole world seemed to take hostilely to his ideas...

Page ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ››

Tools

Каучук

Напечатано 22 декабря, 2011

Каучук

Слово "каучук" происходит от индейских слов "кау" – "дерево" и "учу" – "плакать". Надрезая кору дерева гевеи, индейцы Южной Америки заставляли его "плакать" и собирали вытекающий сок – латекс. При нагревании латекса содержащиеся в нем мельчайшие шарики смолы соединялись и выпадали в осадок. Промывая осадок и...

Жидкий металл

Напечатано 22 декабря, 2011

Жидкий металл

Утверждение, что ртуть – единственный жидкий металл при комнатной температуре (18–22 градусов Цельсия), известно всем еще со школьных лет. Оно неизменно воспроизводится и во многих нынешних руководствах и даже справочниках и энциклопедиях по химии и металлургии...

Керосин

Напечатано 27 января, 2012

Керосин

Уже любопытно само толкование слова "керосин". В Русской энциклопедии (т. 10, с. 42), изданной в Петербурге книжным товариществом "Деятель", сказано: "Керосин... введен в продажу торговым домом "Каррь и сынь", отсюда название". Однако в Большой советской энциклопедии читаем: "Керосин (английское kerosene, от греческого keros – воск)"...

Рисование йодом

Напечатано 25 июня, 2012

Рисование йодом

Чем хорош опыт рисование йодом – все необходимое для него, наверное, есть дома: свечка, аптечный йод (спиртовой раствор, йодная настойка) и какой-нибудь негодный железный предмет – старая дверная петля, ключ от неизвестного замка или замок, ключи от которого потеряны...

Адсорбция

Напечатано 29 июня, 2012

Адсорбция

С физико-химическим явлением, о котором сейчас пойдет речь, знаком, наверное, каждый, хотя, может быть, не все знают, что оно называется адсорбция. Если даже вы и не проходили адсорбцию на уроках, наблюдали вы ее неоднократно. Как только вы сажаете чернильную кляксу на бумагу или, что гораздо хуже, на одежду, так сразу и знакомитесь с этим явлением...

Сванте Аррениус и электролитическая диссоциация

Напечатано 14 января, 2013

Сванте Аррениус и электролитическая диссоциация

В 1884 году великий шведский химик Сванте Аррениус в своей докторской диссертации впервые представил миру свое знаменитое учение - электролитическая диссоциация. Новая теория была настолько революционной, что вызвала необычайные повороты судьбы в жизни этого ученого...

Стр. ‹‹ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ››

Инструменты